Top 10 Anti Valentine’s Day Songs

There really isn’t much I can say about Valentine’s Day that hasn’t already been said countless times by others. Some love it, others hate it. As a single guy I’ve never been too fond of the extra reminder that I’m still flying solo through my pathetic lil’ existence. I’m sure if and when I find a lady who can stand to be around me I’ll still shake my fist at February 14 for the easy boost in profits the flower, card, and candy companies will rake in at my expense. So without further ado, I embrace my single condition and throw out a list of my top 10 favorite anti love songs. Happy Valentine’s Day!

 

10. Terri Clark – Better Things To Do

Ms Clark’s first music video. A great song when you’re coming to the realization how much better off you are without someone dragging you down.

 

9. Halestorm – It’s Not You

Lzzy Hale is the best singer in rock. Period. A song for someone if you’re just not that into them.

 

8. Go West – King of Wishful Thinking

This one is admittedly a “guilty pleasure” song. Sometimes you gotta trick yourself into thinking you’re over someone.

 

7. Gary Allan – Smoke Rings In The Dark

When it comes to country music and expressing the heartache of having to move on from someone, few are better than Gary Allan at capturing that feeling.

 

6. Joan Jett & The Blackhearts – I Hate Myself For Loving You

Joan Jett is the ultimate queen of rock & roll! There’s no way I could leave this one off. The tile says it all.

 

5. King’s X – Summerland

King’s X just might be the most criminally overlooked band in rock history. This track may not be explicitly about love, however it’s one that has helped me come to grips with letting go of past love.

 

4. Shania Twain – Whose Bed Have Your Boots Been Under

The first video from Shania’s mega successful 1995 album The Woman In Me. This song reminds me it’s always a bit fun calling out the unfaithful.

 

3. Otis Redding – Sittin’ On The Dock Of The Bay

There is no other way to put it, Otis Redding is a true music legend. Here we have another track that isn’t explicitly about love, but still souths the soul after a bout of heartbreak and loneliness.

 

2. Metallica – The Unforgiven II

I couldn’t compile a list and not include my favorite band of all-time. Few things can pick me up like rocking out to Metallica. This track is one of my favorites from the band and has helped me through the love sick blues more times than I can count.

 

1. Queensryche – I Don’t Believe In Love

For me this is the ultimate anti love song in the history of anti love songs. The other songs on this list are really in no particular order. However, I knew going in that this track by the Seattle prog metal giants Queensryche had to be number one. This song was practically my theme song throughout high school and college.

So there you go. My top 10 anti Valentine’s Day songs. I hope you found something you like and that the day of love treats you well!

Leave a comment